STAR COLLEGE SCHEME

The Star College Scheme is an initiative of the Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India, Department of Biotechnology (DBT), New Delhi. The objective of the scheme is to promote Life Science and Biotechnology education and training at the Undergraduate level, to encourage students to pursue a career in Life Sciences.

The scheme envisages:

- To strengthen the academic and physical infrastructure to enhance the teaching and learning process of the students and to stimulate critical thinking by providing them 'hands on' exposure in experimental work.
- To increase the core instrumentation resources by procuring new equipments and upgrading existing facilities.
- To provide access and exposure to students to Research Laboratories and Industries in the country.
- To provide better library facility to students and teachers in the department.
- To organize workshops/Seminars/Guest lectures for students benefit.
- To conduct field trips/excursions for students to optimize learning.

Saint Mary's College was awarded the Star College Scheme by DBT in the year 2012. Four departments namely, Botany, Chemistry, Physics and Zoology were recommended by DBT to receive financial support.

The Advisory Committee of the Star College Scheme is comprised of:

Chairperson	:	Dr. (Sr.) Mary Harriet, Principal, Saint Mary's College.
Overall Coordinator	:	Mrs. Aiom P Shabong, Head of Department of Zoology.
DBT Representatives	:	i) Dr. Suman Govil, Adviser, HRD Division, DBT, New Delhi.
		ii) Dr. Padma Singh, Scientist C, DBT, New Delhi
External Experts	:	i) Dr. N.Saha, Professor, HOD, Department of Zoology, NEHU,Shillong
		ii) Dr. S.R.Joshi, Associate Professor, Department of
		Biotechnology, NEHU.

Department Coordinators:

Botany	:	Mrs. I.B. Kharsyntiew, HOD
Chemistry	:	Mr. Micky Sawkmie
Physics	:	Ms. Doreen A. War
Zoology	:	Dr N. Mishra

Faculty Members:

Botany	:	Dr A.R.Laloo, Dr M.Tiwari, Dr S.Rynjah, Mrs. T.Syiemlieh
Chemistry	:	Dr I.Nongkynrih, Ms. I.Dey, Dr P.Dey, M.r M. Sawkmie
Physics	:	Mrs R.Das, Dr B. Dey, Mr C. Synrem, Ms D.War
Zoology	:	Mrs. M.R.Jyrwa, Mrs. Y.B.Nongrum, Mr. L Marbaniang