Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science was started in the year 1961 with Degree Pass course and then later upgraded to teach Honours Course in 1966. The Department is striving hard to give its best to the students and has also been able to effectively meet the challenges that have unfolded due to necessities of time and circumstances.

Faculty Profile:

Name and Qualifications Designation Specialization Date of Joining
Ms.Iasuklang Kharumnuid, M.A.,NET Senior Grade Lecturer   01.06.01
Ms.Rita Biswa, M.A.,NET Senior Grade Lecturer   01.06.01
Ms.Priyanka K. Nongkynrih,  M.A.,M.Phil.,NET Senior Grade Lecturer Indian Federalism 01.06.02
Ms. Sabrina Bamon     01.05.05
Dr. (Ms) Dakarupaya O. Rymbai     01.07.14

Avenues and Prospects:

Political Science papers / sub fields are well prepared and designed for entry into the job, employment on careers market in a wide variety of fields such as law, government, non-government organization or g groups, journalism, teaching profession in the subject either in school college or university level.
Political Science also has an ample scope in the field of research whereby political scientists and researchers are most commonly involved with reviewing history and society, taking part in debates, reporting and communications and they are often required to serve as ambassadors and presenters on public policies and programmes.